A Hiding Egret

Many moons ago (probably 50+ years)...I was in the Cub Scouts. Overall...it was a nice experience...except the time that we had to do an Indian dance for a program...wearing loincloths. Our fearless leader insisted that nobody could wear underwear, because it wouldn't look authentic. Trouble was...she didn't spring that idea on us until we were almost ready to go on stage. "C'mon boys...go in the bathroom, and take off them tighty whities!" "HI-YA...HI-YA...HI-YA....HI-YA!!!" Tough dance for a 8-9 year old to do with no underwear on! Nowadays...she would probably be jailed.

While in the Scouts, we used to receive a monthly magazine called Boys Life. Corny, but clean jokes...a good brother named Gallant and a bad brother named Goofus, and a puzzle of hidden things in a full page drawing. Years later at the Post Office, one of our break partners would open up the magazine, memorize one of the lame jokes, and repeat it at the break table. It usually got more groans than it did chuckles.

This picture reminded me of the hidden picture page. The egret really blends in well with her surroundings. In one of my pictures, there is a little evidence of a nest, and the egret was not venturing very far away from it. It is too far away, and too well hidden, to see any little egrets.

I wish you western people would stop sending the wind our way. We are supposed to have gusts over 40 m.p.h. today. How do you explain to a flower that you want it to stand still? How can you shoot flying birds when they don't want to fly? How do you fly a kite when the breeze is too brisk? Even our flags don't want to be unfurled! I've got blue jays body-surfing in my bird bath! Rubbermaid trash containers turn the streets into obstacle courses. If I wore a toupee...I would not wear it today! ENOUGH!!! Let's just say it's windy.

Have a great Monday!

PS: My wife Lisa informed me that I may have my memories mixed up. We got Highlights for our kids too. I may have mixed up my magazines. Sure spoils my Indian dance story. I feel like a real doofus goofus. Tim




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.