Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Deep in Thought

My basic writing students were approximately 15 minutes into taking Quiz #2 when I quietly reached into my pocket to retrieve my camera and capture the moment.

I haven't tallied scores yet, so I don't know the quiz results. I do know, though, that this is a nice group of students and I enjoy them immensely. I teach two classes on Tuesday morning and one on Thursday morning and then the rest of the time we meet online, so each class is considered a hybrid class.

Some of my students had never taken a hybrid class and if the truth be known, some of them did not know that they were registering for a hybrid class because they did not read the "Schedule of Classes" carefully. A handful of them are certain they will not again register for a hybrid class.

Most of my students are taking too many classes and employed for too many hours. All of them admit they need help with time management and that procrastination is a huge weakness.

This is Week #10 of their 16 week semester. They have a quiz on Week 5, one on Week 10, and the last week is their final exam. I explained to them on the very first day that the semester would travel past us at lightning speed; so far, I haven't been proven wrong.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

P.S. Tomorrow evening two little pooches, weenie dogs, are coming to stay with us for four nights. Our three pooches are not going to know what to think. Fun, fun, fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.