Maggie @ Abingdon

By MaggieJH

A kaleidoscope of bluebells

I thought yesterday's lack of rain was a one-off delight. However, after a wet start the sun appeared again at around 4pm! I had cabin fever so it was easy to leave my writing project and escape on my bicycle for the ten minute ride to my favourite local spot.

I haven't visited Radley Lakes for almost a month. See many previous blips - inc. Feb 26, March 24, March 28, and April 3 for background on these reclaimed gravel pits. The 1.5 mile circular walk took me over an hour as there was, as always, so much to look at.

I stopped to try a bluebell blip - much better with my new camera :) - and I noticed some white albino bluebells by the lakeside. I googled these when I got home; I'm afraid I have no way of knowing whether they are the common Spanish white bluebell or the rare albino British version! If anyone knows how to tell the difference do tell!

Later on, on the opposite side of the lake, I couldn't believe it - there were some pink bluebells!

It was still pretty cloudy but at around 5pm the sun burst through and the light was really beautiful. It was a hard choice but in the end I went for this lake blip rather than the technicolour bluebells!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.