Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... e-blip from the land of poo

Yes, here it is nearly 6 at night, and I am reduced to blipping the wet flower petals on my recently acquired begonia. Lucky me it's pouring rain so no artificial water drops were expended in the making of this blip. Nope, all I had to do was crouch under the gazebo on our deck for a minute and ... presto! One acceptable emergency blip.

Still feeling like poo, although at least the Brillo pad in my throat seems to be gone. Yep, now it's a head full of snot instead. (With apologies to the faint of heart and weak of stomach.)

Spent the afternoon tucked in bed napping with Rocket (known in some circles as "The Dark Lord") the cat. That moniker will be a story for another day...

On a quick circuit of the "front 40" today, I discovered an active nest in the big shrub by our garage. The birds have built it deep in the branches behind the leaves and I can't make out what kind of birds as they are hiding in the shrubbery. I didn't want to stress them by sticking my head in the bush, so will go back when it's not raining and sit quietly until someone emerges. As best I could tell, small birds, maybe a little bigger than a wren and smaller than a house finch. Beaks were long-ish, more like a flycatcher. A mystery...which I resolve to solve.

So, for those counting, that makes 3 nests so far right in the immediate yard area. I know the cardinals are also nesting nearby, probably in the thick wild shrubbery at the edge of the woods. I also saw the crows hauling off bits of the grassy lining from one of my hanging flower baskets today, so know they are nesting too. I may have to open a day care center...

Looking forward to seeing what's going on the Blipworld this evening...

Happy Tuesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.