Let There Be Light

By solli

I Am The Captain of This Ship

Phalacrocorax auritus

I told myself that I'd only spend an hour or two in the field because I need to clean the house for Mother's Day. How does one end up shooting 965 pictures birds and butterflies in their sun dappled environment?

While I was at Lenape, I found the green heron, the yellow warblers, the red cardinal, a few Monarchs, a yellow butterfly, an Orchard Oriole, a bullfrog and a Richard who found a box turtle.

I was happy with either the warbler or the heron so I packed it up to go get some Wellies at Target ~ we've had a lot of rain. On the way home, I detoured through Echo Lake and spotted these three sitting on their log looking mighty pretty. The blue cormorant blended so well into the shaded background that I almost missed him! He has the most amazing blue eyes I've ever seen on a bird and my only wish was that he wasn't completely across the lake so I could get a clearer shot.

I don't think Cormorants are native to these parts so I'm thinking he he must be on his way to visit Dave in Rhode Island. They are known to prefer coastal areas.

For more pictures of the big blue, please click on my Blipfolio and enjoy.

Happy Thursday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.