Grandmere

Early every morning I have walked around the lake in the park close to Mum's home. Already I can spot the regulars; the lady with the two golden retrievers, the elderly couple with the teeny tiny dog who runs ahead and then sits patiently waiting for them to slowly catch him up. The head gardener with the amazing beard who always says hello and the speed walking lady in her sixties with her matching sweat bands.

Once I was home and showered Mum and I returned to have a walk together. We took it slowly and stopped once to sit on one of the many benches so Mum could rest. When I first arrived I was concerned at how breathless Mum became doing simple things, however over the course of the week she really has improved and it was great to walk together in the sunshine.

Mum treated me to one of the famous teas at her favourite garden centre and the rest of the afternoon was spent with Estelle and Elodie.

I made a fish stew which Fran joined us to eat and then Mum and I got caught up looking at old slides and photos. So many memories evoked from a moments capture. It was wonderful. We went to bed far too late.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.