Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Chives

The second summer we lived here (2002) I bought this little chive plant at the local garden center. It provided us with a season of fresh snippings, more than justifying the dollar or two that it cost. In my typical sprint into fall, I didn't do anything to it - just left the pot sitting on the deck and forgot about it. And, the next spring, back it came - full of life. This darned thing has been in the same pot for 10 years - I've probably only fertilized it a few times and have never brought it in during our freezing winters...in short, I've treated it rather badly. And yet, here it is again! I usually let it go to bloom because I think the blossoms are so pretty - plus, you can throw them right into a salad for a little edible surprise! And I like to see the surprised look on the hubs face when he lifts his fork only find a flower dangling from it. :)

I also baked some No Knead Bread today - the house smells fantastic now... And, while I was pottering around, I looked out and saw Mrs. Redness peering back in at me. Always a nice thing to see!

The chickadee nest box is now making little chirps - an excellent sign! I won't open the box now for fear of spooking the babies - we'll just have to wait for them to fledge...

Can't tell if the wrens have made any decision yet about the nest box in the birch tree - it is all full of twigs and I've seen a little activity, but not sure they've laid any eggs. I saw one of them flitting around in my garden this morning, busily eating bugs - the little guy went right into the center of a bushy plant and for the next few minutes all I could see were the leaves moving around. Then, out he popped. Gotta love 'em.

Thanks for all the stars and comments on my hawk yesterday - kind of took me by surprise as I almost didn't blip it. I do love the support and encouragement from everyone here!

Happy Friday, blippers!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.