the edges of my life

By raej

In Hanoi for the weekend and this is the view from the tiny balcony of the little Indian restaurant where I go to eat when alone sometimes. Nothing like people watching while eating a great curry. There is a small population of Indians living here in Hanoi which I am very grateful for - 1. The food and 2. The yearly Depavali festival.
Anyways this mess of electrical wires is typical of Vietnam. I don't understand how electricians stay alive here....
My first summer here I tried to respect cultural values and not show bare shoulders or back - which means being even more uncomfortable in the sweltering heat here. And realizing once the sun goes down Vietnamese women show a lot of bare flesh - its just covered up when the sun is out so their skin doesn't get darker (would you believe they have bleach in all skin products here - moisturizer, deodorant etc). !!! Anyways today I took the plunge and wore a strappy type sundress - decently long but showing my arms, shoulders and back (with two tatoos). Some locals who know me here in hanoi have said I look beautiful (aw shucks) but i have also gotten more harassment from men here than usual. Vietnam requires a thick skin... As a Tay you get stared at no matter what you wear ........But I was a lot cooler today :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.