Five things

By fivethings

Enquirer

1. The work day starts with an email. It says nothing, but says everything. It's obvious to me what's about to happen. I check, it's true. And the day changes from there.

2. My boss is leaving. The boss of the whole company. That may not sound like too much, but it's a big thing round these parts. She started this company, founded it, made it what it is. We gather round, our chairman arrives which is oddly upsetting. It becomes very real. It's an emotional 20 minutes, tears roll down my cheek unchecked.

3. I huddle round the folk who feel like me. Stick close. The news is announced, officially, at 4pm. I switch to Twitter and watch as the news goes live. By five Vicky is trending nationally.

4. Thing is, this is good news. Good news for the Royal Court. WE're witnessing a little bit of history and it's hard to be so sad at the same time. Later I see David Grieg described it as "how the Aberdeen fans felt when Alex Ferguson left to manage Man U. That."

5. I see Enquirer for the first time. This is the view from the office we're performing in, before the show starts. It's no secret this show is fantastic. I'm late to the party, but I totally agree and am blown away. I am flooded with emotion as the sun sets. This is how the end of an era feels.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.