Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Merry Christmas, Everyone!

Today I started writing my cards and, as I have done every year, I am wishing all my blipmates a Merry Christmas with a photo of the card I'm sending. This is what is written inside it:-

For many years I’ve made my own cards, lately from photos I've taken during the year. This year my card is somewhat different, but very special to the family. This card is a compilation of images taken of a nativity set painted by my mother. Mum bought   a plain white plastic set from Woolworths for 2/6d (12.5 pence) and some enamel paints. She painted a set for us, then went on to paint a set for her sister, my junior school, her office and probably a few more. All were identical and all with fine detail on the faces done with a brush trimmed to just a few hairs. Some have been used every year for about 55 years!



Mum’s health has been up and down this year, resulting in her having to give up independent living in July in favour of a care home. She has been in hospital for 3 months and is now awaiting transfer to a nursing home.



It just seemed so right to do this card to mark one of the many skilful things she has done in her life.

                                                                                                            Sue x



Today at visiting time I arranged for a hairdresser to come to and do The Mother's hair. She advised me that a perm wasn't a sensible option so instead she washed her hair, conditioned it, trimmed the ends then blow-dried it beautifully. The Mother remembered she should be wearing jewellery!

During this hairdressing session our vicar called to see The Mother with cards for us. I mentioned an item of recent national news. Well! The Mother set off talking and talked and talked and talked about her opinion on this.

As I was about to leave she tackled the nurse about what had happened to her Sunday Telegraphs, I had to tell her they'd been cancelled but I will certainly get one this week,.

The Mother has amazingly got a bit of her thinking back!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.