Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

Settle to Carlisle Railway.

Today was my trip on the Settle to Carlisle Railway. Coach arrived in Settle at around 10 past 12 and we had one hour to look around before meeting at the railway station.

The station is very nice - very well kept and neat and tidy. My blip shows Platform One with the Waiting Room. This is the platform for the train to Carlisle. Platform 2 is for the train to Leeds.

Unfortunately the train was not a steam train - just an ordinary one. Seems they only run steam trains on certain occasions. I think a lot of folk on the trip had the ( wrong ) idea, as I did , that it would be a steam trip.

Never mind - the scenery along the 72 mile journey was very nice. We got to Carlisle at 3.30pm and left around 5pm. The weather had been wet first thing but luckily while we were in Settle and Carlisle it was dry.

Haven't been to Carlisle for years and its changed so much. Took a while to get my bearings so in the end I wished we had spent longer there.

Arrived back in Newcastle around 6.20pm. All in all an enjoyable day but not quite what I expected.

My other photos of the day are on FLICKR

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.