The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Revelation of Procrastination

Today was a carefully planned day. Bonnie and I decided at dinner last night that we would both devote our day mostly to the garden. She was to pick up the plants at the nursery, trim the shrub roses, weed and plant a new garden on the hillside. I had planned to pick up the tiller from the repair shop, purchase a new electric trimmer at the hardware store, return to the house, trim the shrubs and till the garden. At breakfast today, we ratified our plans.

Bonnie set about accomplishing her items and I had the best of intentions of following suit. As I was loading the ramp into the back of the truck, the dogs gave me that "what the F-look". Almost every Saturday, like a religious ritual, I take them for a morning romp in the river. But not today, I thought. I jumped in the truck and realized I had left my wallet in the house. Out I jumped and headed towards the house leaving the car door open. I fetched my keys and returned to the vehicle and, as I looked up, I realized that "me pups was in me trux" with squared ears in anticipation of a river swim on this steamy morning. Well, this was the first slight alteration to my plans. What could hurt with a quick trip to the river, maybe thirty minutes at most, on the way to the rest of my well planned day.

We arrived at the river and the weather was hot and humid but the breezes kept it tolerable. We set forth on our normal route but there was a monkey wrench in our future. The half-hour river walk lasted nearly two hours due to the fact that, at the end of the walk, my boy dog Bravo gave chase to a pair of white tail deer and I gave chase to him. This was plan alteration #2.

Quickly my heart was at maximum pace and my head was dripping in sweat, yet, I caught up to him about fifteen minutes later thanks to a fence at the end of the park. Angry and agitated, back to the truck we went to carry on with our day. The trip back to the truck lasted longer than I wanted and, as I loaded the dogs in the car, I was worried about their hydration, so, I decided to drop them off at home.

As we arrived home, Gabriella greeted us and I asked "where is your mother?" I was informed that she was in the garden. Gabriella also informed me that she was "going to die of heat stroke if she did not go swimming soon". I really believed her and I really love her and I really would feel awful if she died so...........plan alteration #3. I yelled down to Bonnie that I was taking Gabriella for a swim and that I would be back to my schedule in "less than an hour". I received a grumble but I took it as a sign of acceptance and I carried forth.

Now, when my daughters swim, it can be a performance event and, today it was. Gabriella started doing these spinny twirly things as she pushed off the bottom of the pool and OUT came the camera. With all this fun and all this blipping, we simply lost track of time and she was in the pool for twice the time I had planned. Awful I felt but what could I do? We returned to the house and I put her in the shower to rinse of the chlorine. I went down stairs and was stunned by the clock. I tried to compose myself. And, then, I had the revelation of procrastination.

By this point, the day was "pretty much over" so, I decided to shift my gardening plans by JUST 24 hours and sat to watch the ball game. And a hell of a game it was with extra innings and all. During on of the commercial breaks I thought I would check on Bonnie and get a picture of her in the soft early evening light. I bounded down the hill with a big smile on my face and a camera in my hand to tell her that our team was winning. As I arrived, I was greeted with the most amazing example of STINK EYE I have ever received.

Have any of you ever tried to garden at night? I might as well since I am likely to sleep outside tonight.

Happy weekend to you all. This is the most amazing community. If the entire world were as kind and compassionate as Blipdom, would not that be paradise?



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.