SPIRIT - MONO MONDAY

Pottered around this morning then walked down to the village.  Got some shopping but it was mainly to " get some steps in ".

It was Taster Night  at slimming club so I made some chocolate meringues. Left it a bit late putting them in the oven and had to take them out before they were properly done but in the end they were fine - lovely and crisp on the outside with gooey middles. They seemed to go down well and there were none left for me to take home but I did have a bit of mixture left over so I will make a few more tomorrow for myself. There was loads of lovely stuff at the taster night - all free or low syn.  I lost 3 pounds at the weigh in. (  Luckily the weigh in was before we stuffed our faces with food. ) So that cancels out the 3 pounds I put on in the previous 2 weeks.

Neil came here after work and I cooked him a meal.  Just had a quiet evening watching TV.  Still enjoying Broadchurch. 

The Mono Monday theme today is SPIRIT.  I have gone for the obvious and blipped an alcoholic spirit.  This decorative bottle contains 750ml of 8 year old Beam's Choice Straight Bourbon Whiskey - distilled and bottled in Kentucky. 80% proof.  It was bought when I was on holiday in Malta in around 1979.  I bought 2 bottles and gave one to my brother who sampled it straight away.  He said it was " strong".  My bottle remains unopened so I guess it now contains 44 year old whiskey. The illustration on the front of the bottle is of a red fox and was drawn by James Lockhart - an American wildlife artist.

Steps today - 8,925

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.