AT THE FOOT OF THE TREE

at the Sohnreyhöhe. To come there one follows a rather steep path.
There are two benches placed, one straight, old fashioned, and the other
a new design, curved, so that you feel invited to sleep there. In the sunshine not a bad idea at all. There is a fence to prevent persons to go too near the ravine. That would be very dangerous, the hight is really scary.
After a nice pause there we followed the path that eventually reach the broad road.
After we had walked the road (no trafic, only foresters are allowed to drive there) for a while, Piet Hein asked me if I did see something special.
My answer a no, but after some minutes I heard at my left side, the noise of one or more boars. It came from the slope. I stopped, gave Piet Hein a sign and waited for what would happen next.
To our big surprise, the boars started to move, following a path obviously, and we saw a caravan of perhaps ten black grown-ups and thirty striped young ones moving hastely, Then they halted, and later they started moving swiftly again. An amazing sight.
We felt exited, it was the first time that we saw actually boars in the forests. We had seen the signs, we had heard their eating growls, but they had always stayed hidden for our eyes.
I tried to take pictures, many, but none was good enough.

My haiku:

The yellow crocus
I see, and then the purple
And the white ones: Spring?

And the proverb:

He/she hath a spring in his/her elbow.

1678  J. Ray

Spoken of a gamester (gambler).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.