CROCUS FLOWERS

Tomorrow we'll have day first of our new scheme, I told Piet Hein yesterday evening. And he agreed, not liking schemes so much, but he knew what I meant.
When I looked out of the bedroom window at half past eight I was astonished to see a white world outside. And it still snowed too.
It was obvious, although I liked what I saw, no first day possible then.
The whole morning I did a bit of this and a bit of that. Soon enough it thawed. At first the birds had frantically visited the feeders, but they calmed down when the snow slowly disappeared.
After lunch it was time for a walk along the Weser.
There is a garden on our way down where the crocus flowers looked lovely and were abundant too.
We enjoyed our walk and returned only when we came to the point where the path ends. Then we went under the railroad-tunnel to reach our road back. A bit long this walk, but when in the end the sun began to shine brightly, we had that feeling of a wintersport resort walk.

My haiku:

What does the crocus 
Say when she feels the warmth
After enduring snow

And the proverb:

To shake a loose (or free) leg.

(= to lead an irregular life, live freely)

1834  in Ainsworth, Rookwood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.