THE KRUKENBURG RUINE

Seen from a new discovered place.
This day will be so good, was my thought when I saw the blue sky in the morning. But when I eventually sat on the balcony, dark clouds came and a cold wind too, and I was chased inside.
After lunch it looked better again and we decided to drive to a parking place from where we could walk to a well. Perhaps not a holy one, but nevertheless it would be nice to discover it.
As soon as we walked our path, we heard the helicopters with the chalk baskets and we were afraid that they would come in our direction.
We saw chalk lie on the ground and an enormous heap of it in the middle of our path. That's why we returned and drove a bit further to find another well. Not much to show of it.
We drove back till we came at the Jugendherberge, parked there and walked the hillroad of Helmarshausen. We had never gone up there, from the Krukenburg it had, however, always intriguid me how it would be to walk there. I had the impression that there was a cemetry on top, but that was not the case, but there was a bench with wonderful views in different directions. We heard the sounds of gees or were it cranes?
I show their flight in the extra photo.
Then we did some food shopping, before we could drink our afternoon tea.

My haiku:

High upon the hill
We see another famous
One called Krukenburg

And the proverb:

Hills are green (blue) far away.

1887  H. Caine,  Deemster.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.