Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Memorabilia

Day one of my Spring clear out and I've started with:

1. the stuff under my bed... ugh the dust!

and

2. The clothes stashes away in cupboards that I haven't worn since... er... before the Berlin Wall came down!

Just to remind you Solidarnosc or the Solidarity Movement was an independent labour union, started in the Gdansk Shipyard in Poland. Led by Lech Walesa, it was highly instrumental in the country's break from Communism and the subsequent break up of Soviet hold over Eastern Europe.

I was there if I remember in May 1989, the Wall came down in the November.

The Travel card on the other hand dates from 1992, between the time Thatcher abolished the GLC and Ken Livingstone returned as London Mayor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.