Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

HOLLY

This holly tree is in my back garden. It is just starting to flower. Every year it produces loads of berries which are enjoyed by the birds - blackbirds are very partial to them.

You can tell its a female tree which will produce berries as in the middle of each flower you can see the green ovaries - the green bumps - which will go on to form berries. Male holly trees do not have berries.

I usually pick some branches to have indoors at Christmas time as the red berries are traditional however last year due to " global warming " or the mixed up seasons we are having the berries came early and by October the tree had none. We will see what happens this year.

As you can see we have blue sky again today - if anything it seems warmer than yesterday. Not much chance for me to enjoy the lovely weather today as I need to pack --- and the ironing still hasn't been done. You can tell I'm not keen on that chore.

Off on holiday tomorrow - coach trip to Great Yarmouth and the Norfolk Broads. Hopefully the nice weather will continue. I will have no access to the internet while I'm away so no blips or comments from me until next weeked. Will back- blip obviously.

Hope everyone has a lovely week. Take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.