Up the Country

Going to the country, baby do you want to go?
I know if you can't make it, your sister Lucille say she wanna go.
Actually, I wasn't really going to give anyone a backie up the old railway line. Just beautiful today. Word for the day! Dithyrambic! I came across it in the Observer (applied to Three Men in a Boat and Wind in the Willows) and felt so inadequate as I didn't know what it meant. Now I do.
The dithyramb was an ancient Greek hymn sung and danced in honour of Dionysus, the god of wine and fertility; the term was also used as an epithet of the god: Plato, in The Laws, while discussing various kinds of music mentions "the birth of Dionysos, called, I think, the dithyramb." (I'm sure you know that, Dotty). Kind of like an early rugby song then?
Never mind that, how good was William Shatner on Have I Got News for You? I'm not much of a TV watcher, but that pressed my tiny little button. Enjoy what's left of the weekend, folks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.