Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

So many choices...

I decided to go to Fort DeSoto this morning - the weather was balmy, the light was lovely, and the water was like glass.  And the birds were plentiful and hungry.  That makes for some magical time for any photographer.  

I was torn on what to post today, and ended up with this one because I like the calmness of it.  Most of the other shots today were more action oriented - this one is rather serene.  Well, unless you are the tiny fish - not so serene for him, I guess.  Ever wonder why a bird the size of a Great Egret bothers with tiny little fish like this?  I've even seen them plucking grasshoppers and crickets from the grass and eating them.  Seems like a lot of work for not much return.

I was lucky enough to see a flock of about 30 red knots actively feeding on the beach - and two of them had radio trackers on their legs!  Not something I've ever seen before with the red knots, so I am thinking these may be migrants from S. America.  I'm waiting for my report to get processed so I can find out where those two have been sighted.  I just love seeing banded birds - it feels very special to be able to know where they've been.  

I also saw my first-ever Mangrove Skipper today - a beautiful black butterfly.  I posted seven shots on Flickr, starting HERE with the Mangrove SKipper

Haven't decided yet where I'll go tomorrow.  Hubs is leaving very early to go to a race about 90 miles from here and he'll be gone all day.  So, I'll get out for awhile with the camera and then get some packing and cleaning done.  Tick tock.

In two weeks, we will be in New Jersey...I can't believe it!

Toodles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.