Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Belle of the Hoodie Ball

Okay, I confess that I am a bit smitten with the mergansers this spring. Maybe it's just that I've never seen so many or been close enough to get any decent shots. As many of our lakes continue to be frozen, the few open patches of water have a plethora of water fowl on them. Anyway, I dashed out this morning in hopes of seeing those elusive Tundra Swans and as I was driving by an old mill, I saw a bunch of Common and Hooded mergansers. So, I swerved off the road (thank heavens for All-Wheel-Drive!) and grabbed the camera. The mill pond was like glass, perfectly reflecting the mill's windows in the water. It made for some interesting photos - almost a little surreal looking with the reflections. Here you see four handsome drakes all swimming around one little hen - the bell of the ball.

I posted six other shots on Flickr, starting HERE - more hoodies, a nice close shot of a drake common merg, some snow geese flying over head and a handsome black vulture airing out his wing-pits. Oh, and some wood ducks - which were almost my blip today just because the color of the water was magical.

I talked to Anni/Biker Bear this afternoon and confirmed that she's getting all the wildlife in FL ready for my arrival tomorrow. :) She's picking me up at the Orlando Airport and we'll make the drive to Ocala Gainesville and begin our adventure. Woohoo! Not sure how the blipping will work for the next few days, but stay tuned to this space... There isn't a bird, animal or gator who will be safe from the Band of Blippers who are about to descend on Gainesville.

Thanks for the comments, hearts and stars on yesterday's flock of grackles and redwings. You sent them to the Spotlight page for a brief visit - so thanks for that!

Cheers --- and Happy Thursday.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.