Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Some say villain...

This is a Brown-headed Cowbird , a close relative of the red-winged blackbirds (Icterids).  They are reviled by many because they are what is known as "brood parasites" meaning that the females forgo building nests and instead put all their energy into producing eggs, which they lay in the nests of smaller birds.  They will produce up to 3 dozen eggs each summer and usually deposit only one in each "host" nest, abandoning their young to foster parents. Because they choose nests of smaller species, the young cowbirds usually survive at the expense of at least some of the host’s own chicks.  They are blamed for contributing to the drops in numbers of several warblers who were already threatened by loss of habitat.


All of that being said...I think they are beautiful birds and they can't be blamed for the way they are designed.  The male, which you see here, is a gorgeous iridescent glossy black with a velvety brown head.  And their song is a warbled tune that almost sounds as if it is being sung under water. I love their song, it always makes me want to stop what I am doing and find the source.  Luckily for me, this one was singing from the top of our cherry tree.  If you'd care to have a listen to their song, please click HERE and scroll about halfway down the page to the small black box labeled "typical song".  It's worth a listen.  


The squirrels (two of them, both huge) have wreaked a bit of havoc in the Bistro in their attempts to eat all of the seeds.  I've taken some diversionary tactics to ensure that there is sufficient food for everyone.  And I am just counting my blessings that I'm only dealing with squirrels rather than bears at the moment! 


Cold temps for the nest few days will most likely keep me close to home - which is fine because I still have boxes in the garage that need some attention.


Dinner tonight is split pea using the ham bone from Easter - perfect cold-day meal.  


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.