The Day of the Puncture...

There I was trundelling along, down past Silverknowes and my back wheel punctured. Ach, nae bother, I've got the tools. Roll up sleeves and get on with it.

Incidentally, cyclist are really nice. I lost count of how many people passing asked if I was okay.

Got the wheel back on and I don't think I made it 100 metres and the front tyre went and I didn't have a second tube. I managed to get away with trudelling back no handed with my weight over the back wheel.

End of the story? Nope.

Got a new tube and repair kit at lunch and headed home on my Gadaffi. Got to Barnton and the back tyre blew. Actually bang, blew. Lucky I had the repair kit. Fixed one of the tubes I've now been collecting. Turns out the root of the problem was my tyre which was basically at the end of it's life and was quite badly haemorrhaging the inner tube to the point where it hit the frame every revolution. It did however get me to Dalmeny, very carefully, before it blew as well.

Limp the bike to Dalmeny train station, train and run along to get to the school just in time for Bethany getting out.

Phew....

So after going through the tubes on the road and fixing my old ones, I think I've probably done about four puncture repairs today. I actually quite perversley like fixing them and it does really appeal to my recycling and fixing not replacing ethic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.