The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Joseph

At this very moment, he asked me which hat I liked better. I went with the Minnesota Twins stocking cap.

Joseph is a street musician and a brilliant fixture of the downtown streets. I have come to know him quite well since I met him outside of the Twins ballpark two years ago. I had noticed him the first time as I was exiting the stadium after a home team vivctory and he was playing Take Me Out to the Ballgame and followed it with the We're Going to Win Twins theme song. The next night, we lost and he was playing The Godfather Theme song followed by Oh Danny Boy. That night, I had to meet this man with musical wit.

Joseph has been playing the downtown music scene, in the streets and in the clubs, for the last eleven years. That I love. And he is crazy Twins fan. That I adore. On my way to get a salad today, he saw me crossing the street and switched right into the Godfather tune knowing that it was a bit like calling a dog to your side with a whistle. He wanted to talk to me about the walk off home run victory that the Twins had last night......with two outs and a full count in the bottom of the ninth. For those of you that do not know baseball, just think about cupcakes and presents on your fourth birthday. A walk off home run and a fourth birthday.........they are one in the same.

Joseph plays the flute, the piccolo and he plays the trumpet like Louis "SACHMO" Armstrong. Joseph's music is as brilliant as his personality and smile are joyful. I will never tire of his warm personality, his heart lifting music and the fun of his street chatter.

Thank you for the comments, stars and hearts on my blip yesterday. It is so heart warming and I am grateful. And, the really fun thing is that, after thirty years of travel, I no longer have to travel alone. You are all so great to be with.

I am slowly catching up with you all. This is a delighful and entertaining thing on my TO DO list.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.