DUCKS

This afternoon I decided to go to Blaydon - and also try and get a good step count.  So I got off the bus in Swalwell and walked to Blaydon  - a distance of 1.6 miles.  The weather warm at times but when there was no sunshine it got a bit chilly.

My route passed near SHIBDON POND and I had with me some food for the ducks and geese. There were lots of them and they seemed to enjoy the food.  I had looked on the internet to find out what was best to take - apparently not bread as its got no nutrition in it. I took some oats, rice, dried mealworms and bird seed.  Defrosted frozen peas are also good  but I didn't have any of them.

My blip shot shows a few of the ducks retreating into the water as I approached but they soon turned around when they realised food was on offer.

Shibdon Pond is a NATURE RESERVE with wetlands and is one of the most important sites in the area for birds.  I saw this lovely GREYLAG GOOSE.  Between 1837 and 1951 Blaydon Main Colliery dominated the site. You would never guess looking at the area these days.

When I reached Blaydon I popped in to see Neil at his work.  I only stayed a few mins as he was very busy.  Then a bit of shopping before getting the bus home. 

Steps today - 10,104

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.