PUBLIC WALK AROUND GATESHEAD TOWN CENTRE AND QUAYS

As you can see from the title I joined in a public walk around Gateshead this afternoon.  There were 11 of us on the walk and our guide was Anna Pepperall - Gateshead Public Art Curator.  Most of the artwork was known to me and in fact I have blipped quite a few of the pieces already.

In today's photo you can see our guide and one of the sculptures which make up The Family. Located near the Office of Births, Marriages and Deaths in Gateshead Civic Centre these three sets of linked figures represent life's three main stages:  infancy, maturity - which is in my blip shot -  and old age.  These sculptures were installed in 1991 and took 3 years to make.

In the background of my shot you can just see a terrace of houses - one of them is the offices of the solicitor I saw on Thursday.

The walk took around 2½ hours.  Lots of actual walking but also lots of standing about listening.  It was all very interesting. Afterwards I popped into Tesco before coming home.  The weather while I was out was bright, sunny and warm at times.  Out of the sun though it was decidedly chilly.  

Steps today - 10, 648

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.