Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Darn(er)!

Back to High Point State Park today - this time to meet up with a group from the State Audubon Assn to do a nature walk. As always, it was a great experience, with lots of learning for me. The group had experts on plants, butterflies, dragons, birds, and just about anything else pertaining to nature that you could think of so I was able to ask questions to my heart's content. We walked along a forested trail, and along a cedar bog so saw lots of butterflies, dragons, and damsels. I am slowly learning more about all of them - slowly being the operative word.

Today's blip is a Harlequin Darner (Gomphaeschna furcillata) which hovers and darts about, much like a hummingbird. I was able to get several good shots of it in flight, along with a bunch of very blurry shots! Ha. Some of the other sightings today are on Flickr if you'd care to take a peek...

Spring Azure Butterfly
Southern Pygmy Clubtail Dragon
Green Frog (my second runner up for today's blip)
Cabbage White butterfly (in our back yard)

I went out to check on the wren nest box outside my office and was soundly scolded by both parents, so I beat a hasty retreat. I'd love to take a peek in the nest, but it's not worth potentially losing the only good eye I have! I know that they've got chicks in the nest since both parents are bringing insects into the nest box. The wrens that were trying to build a nest in the "old" chickadee box seem to have given up and found a different sight. Hard to keep track of those busy little birds!

Thanks for the hearts and stars on yesterday's woodpecker! I mentioned it to him this morning, but he's a woodpecker so he didn't let on that he was excited. Hard to tell what is on a woodpecker's mind...

Happy Thursday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.