goodtimes

Leah and I made a nice homemade dinner tonight. Sadly, it had been a while on account of our recent trips. Ravioli, salad, and green beans: all fresh, all delicious. This is some fresh chopped garlic, tomato, and some basil from our ever-thriving skygarden. As we were cleaning up, we were talking about taking a bike ride, maybe over to Michael and Kathryn's for some Petra time. Then a few minutes later, Kathryn actually texted us to see if we wanted to have some pints at the pub and meet up with her good friend, Megan. Well that worked out nicely!

Our quick ride turned into a several hour/pint session at the Bull and Bush (and that ended with bottles of gin at Michael and Kathryn's: not pictured). Leah, myself, Kathryn, Megan, and Michael. Our conversations turned to things most inappropriate (as they tend to do with this group) and quite wrong for re-capping here. We did, however, broach some serious topics, most notably about the disgustingly wealthy people in this country, this town. To paraphrase my dad's quote (via Maureen O'Dowd or someone) about Mitt Romney: "He was born on third base but he thinks he's hit a triple." Indeed. I see these people around Fort Worth all the time, right in our neighborhood (don't get me started on the half-dozen twenty year old TCU girls in their LexusBMWMercedes right here in our buidling). Maybe a wee bit of alcohol-fueled vitriol or maybe just a growing insensitivity to those around us who do nothing but consume all that they have unfairly acquired without the thought of giving a thing back.

I picked up the tab tonight, not to make anyone feel guilty or to prove some sort of point, but just because I had a few extra bucks this month (photo show, left over from trip, final paycheck until fall, etc.) and thus it was the right decision to make. And because I know that my good friends will do (and have done, you better believe it) the same for me when my wallet is a bit thin, like this summer. But I feel better existing in a society where some things are shared between friends, families, and communities. This is not a political diatribe just an exclamation of how I prefer to live, what feels right for my personal existence. Selfishness repels me like almost nothing else. Cheers, friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.