THE WISTERIA FLOWERS

We walked in the forest in the morning. All the shades of green in the trees gave the impression that the fragile spring colour is history now.
We walked one path, heard so many birds singing, saw the traces of the boars, but did not see or hear them, neither the deer or fox, for that matter.
It was a warm summery day, we sat on the terrace, read a book, I slept a bit, and when it was time to take a picture, I knew it had to be the wisteria flowers. I have never seen this shrub flower in such an abundant way.
I had tried on earlier days to catch the beauty, but today with the filtered light, it seemed so right.
When we bought the house, the wisteria was already there, it held on to a discarded Rotary cloth-line. Later I did sawed the iron wings. In wintertime it was such a stupid sight.
The pole I could not remove and then where could the wisteria hold herself on?
That part of the garden was a jungle of ferns, blackberry bush and when we had settled I started to make it passable again.
There are two other wisterias at the front of the house. These too have flowers, but almost hidden they are. The blackbirds like to make a nest at the top. and for that reason I cannot prune them.

My haiku:

No garden when we
Lived in town when I was young
No roses, no wisteria

The last sentence is a bit long, but to say only no wisteria, I did not like.

And the proverb:

A miss is as good as a mile.
(Formerlly: An inch in a miss is as good as an ell)

1825  Scott, Journal 3.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.