THE HERON

took what she wanted from a discarded coot nest.
First she had stood along he little canal, she flew away. I followed because I wanted to go anyway that direction.
I saw her take some material from the coot's nest and off she flew.
My walk in the morning led me eventually to a swan with nine babies.
A cosy place, rather small, but they felt safe between the high reed.
I took some pictures, but will find them tomorrow again, I hope.
In the afternoon Piet Hein and I went to the beach.
I found it much cooler than what I had experienced on my walk. A fresh wind, but that did not prevent Piet Hein to have a bath in the cold water.

Yesterday I had gone to the computer-shop. Told the problem, heard what only looking into it would cost 50 euro, and it would be wise to have made a back-up. Well we had tried to do that, but it had been not a success. And with the weekend coming, I could better come back Tuesday.
So I had gone back home and decided to try another plug-socket (I had tried that in Germany and had an amazing result.
Believe me or not, it did work here in The Hague as well. And I do hope that the problem will not come back suddenly.

The swan pair that I saw yesterday in the pond had disappeared there. The Canadian geese walked around, proudly with their goslings.
I am glad so many blipfriends liked the capture of the aggressive swan.

My haiku:

Take what you want when
It's not too hot or heavy
To your advantage

And the quote by Emerson in "Çompensation", Essays: First Series (1841):

Every advantage has its tax.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.