Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Joy of Odes...

I used to be afraid of dragonflys.  I have a brain tumor and photography to thank for my fascination with them now.  Every summer I delight in the first dragons to show up in my garden.  Such fearsome hunters and such wonderful creatures to have in the garden!  Today started cold but as the temps gradually climbed, the yard started to come alive with dragons.  This is a Common Baskettail and there were many of them flying around in the yard today.  I got this fairly early when it was still somewhat cool, which allowed me to get within a couple of feet of this guy.  And, how nice that it posed on my about-to-bloom honeysuckle!

After refereeing more cat wars, I decided to take a break and take my camera over to Kittatinny Valley State Park for a walk.  Many dragons there, too - I've been unable to identify one of them as of yet, but I'll get it.  Also saw a beautiful male indigo bunting singing from way high in the trees, a pair of Baltimore orioles and several Yellow warblers.  Many people at the park today, so it wasn't as idyllic a walk as I would have liked, but still nice enough.  And I saw my first Hummingbird Clearwing Moth of the season!  Always such a cool sight, and would have been my second choice for a blip today.

Hubs had a great morning racing - in fact, he came in 3rd place in his class of cars!  I'll post an iphone pic he sent me in Extras if you'd like to have a look.  He's got another race tomorrow morning and then he will head home - should be here by about 3 in the afternoon.  

The cats... oh dear.  After things appeared to be gradually getting better, last night was a major setback.  Finally at midnight, I had to separate them.  This morning, they were at it again, so I refereed as best I could.  I do hope they eventually work this out.

Cheers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.