Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...You talking to me?

It's so unusual to catch a hummer with their beak open that I had to go with this one today. I cropped it a little bit and brightened it up just a hair, but otherwise, this is how she looks. Pretty little thing, isn't she? I saw her run another female hummer off one of the feeders yesterday - and so it begins... Hummer Wars 2012.

I went back to the dentist today to get the permanent crown put on my tooth - I was expecting it to be a snap, but it hurt like all hell and I had to get extra novacain. The result being that the whole left side of my face is still numb. Ugh. Eating dinner won't be pretty since the right side of my face doesn't work all that well ...

To sooth my nerves, I hit the park after the dentist. There was no one there, which meant I had the trail around the lake all to myself. I got lucky and saw not one, but TWO Baltimore Orioles, a male, who was carrying around a grub, and a female, way high above my head in a tree.. I was hoping for some dragons, but it was just a bit too cool today and I saw not a one. In fact, the only insect I saw besides honey and bumble bees was this rather fetching cabbage white butterfly, posed alongside the path.

Tomorrow I plan to join the Audubon club for one of their nature walks. It is at a WMA that is quite nearby, but that I've not spent any time at. It's a wild area, no real trails to speak of, so it will be good to go with a guide. And I'll be wearing my new rubber boots, too! I should be quite a sight actually...

Thank you for all the comments, hearts and stars on my ambitious little wren and his damselfly yesterday! I always love it when I can get lucky enough to catch birds doing something so birdy. The wrens are still busy today, running food into the box and hauling what appears to be poop sacks out. And whenever I get too near, I am soundly scolded by 5 inches of fury.

Happy Tuesday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.