Gate in the Rain

Oops, the weather is not playing fair with us in flaming June- heavy rain and low cloud cloaking the islands in a wet shroud and conspiring to impede His Lordship's return to jollity.
I have never seen cattle looking so miserable as they stand in close huddles, backs to the wind in the soaked fields. I wonder how they select the poor things who are on the outside of the group.

Yesterday, despite the weather, was a wonderful day for me.
I met up with Orcadian blipper Poppy at 11am in Kirkwall and was returned by her at 10pm to Stromness- 11 hours of brilliant company.

His Lordship was gracious enough to say hello, kissed her hand, then did the gentlemanly thing of disappearing for the rest of the day leaving us to our own devices.

We chatted, we visited craft shops, we chatted, we drove to her house, we chatted, I fell in love with her house and the new extension with the picture window overlooking the sea, we chatted more, we drank wine, we chatted, I met her husband , we all chatted, we ate a lovely dinner, we chatted, they so kindly drove me all the way home, and we were still chatting.
It was the sort of day that I will remember for all time. I hope Poppy feels the same.

But another day dawns and it's still raining; the view has disappeared behind the rain drenched windows. It will be a day for the museum, the Pier Art Gallery and the library,- and of course tea and toast with Julia and WiFi in her cafe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.