THE HUMMINGBIRD-HAWK MOTH

came at almost the exact time as yesterday. I know they do that, but had not anticipated when I came outside. I did that because the sun came out behind the clouds.
I had been watching a documentary on TV about the Abolitionist movement in the 19th century in the USA. Very well made! And an eye opener for someone who has read about the subject, but the intensity the scenes and informations had gotten, made me silent.
Then I went outside and the moment I stood before the dianthus flowers the moth came and in contrast to yesterday she landed on the flowers, very shortly I have to admit, but long enough to try my luck.
With the macro lens I find it more difficult to focus in a swift way and many pictures showed the flower but no moth.
Mischa and Piet Hein liked this picture most, because of the strange atmosphere.
The extra photo shows a more familiar image.
In the morning I had cleaned the little bathroom. And I had removed so many ferns, that would take over, together with the blackberry-bushes.
I had one glove on and when I finished I saw a bit of blood on my hand
 and licked it away. The strange taste did frighten me, why not wait and wash it off?
I spit it out several times and then rinsed my mouth with water.
Did I feel already a pain in my stomach?
I went looking on internet about the poisonous of ferns and other plants. And of course again I was surprised how many there are that are really a danger for humans and their pets (dogs and others).
I drank a lot of oatmilk, somehow had once heard that it is good for the stomach.
I tell this little story because this is so typically me. Only after an hour I decided that this little lick would not kill me or make me terribly sick.

My haiku:

The dianthus flowers
Are waiting little moth
Come and taste them

And the proverb:

The tears of the tankard.

1678  Ray  82

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.