Journey Through Time

By Sue

Chicken Feet

First of all, thank you again for the recent showering of stars and hearts for my entries these past few days. I so appreciate it.

Did the auntie errand day today. Went to her doctor in charge of getting her anemia under control and she is discharged from his care as of today. Her numbers are good after a year of taking liquid iron. She is happy not to have to take that any more. Then we went to lunch at California Pizza Company at the Clackamas Town Center Mall and I had a very good salad made with quinoa (keen-wa). A healthy offering...good for them. We had to go to her little store where she gets her bread and I picked up sunflower seeds for me to munch on. Another healthy food choice. We went to her grocery store for something else, to the bank, and to the big garden nursery that is near her home. They have two big chickens who wander free and they were in the same place we were. I saw those big chicken feet and decided on that for a photo...and since nothing else turned out all that great...I kind of like the big old chicken feet. Then, I looked up "chicken feet" on the computer and it turns out that this is just "the" thing to use if you want to make really good chicken stock. Clean those babies up, cut off the claws, simmer them for hours. Yum. I guess this has been going on around the world for eons, but it just begs the question: Who looked at these feet and thought...hmmmm, might be good to throw those in the pot? I mean...seriously...how do they look edible? Never in a million years, no matter how hungry I would be, would it have occurred to me to eat these things.

Looks like dinosaur feet to me.

Oregon Coast news: A 66 foot floating dock, floated over 5,000 miles from North Japan to land on Agate Beach, near Newport Oregon. It's been scraped of all of the living things that were clinging to it, and they used a blow torch to go over the surface so that something that shouldn't be here doesn't get loose. Never thought anything THAT big from the tsunami debris would land on our beaches. The dock will probably be dismantled somehow or another.

Leaving for a long weekend tomorrow morning. No Internet, so back blips. See ya later, my friends. Have a great weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.