Da Halfway Hoose

A mixed day of weather, showers, sunshine, windy and still on the chilly side.

My plans for walkies this morning went out the window.  It was very showery, so Sammy just had to have a run around the garden. 
Off to work I went and was expecting it to be a really busy day with the poor day.  It has been busy but a fine steady busy and not overly rushed :)  Plenty of visitors about and plenty of questions thrown at me.
Managed a few walkies with Sammy this evening and now enjoying a relaxing evening at home.

After tea I was going to head out west but it's not been much of an evening.  I made it as far as Kergord and passed by Sandwater on my way.  Sandwater house sits lonely by itself with not another house to be seen for miles.  It was on an old halfway house hotel.  Crofters making their way to Lerwick  with sheep etc or back would stop off for the night.  It's fine to see it still lived in and the lum was even reeking :)  I have been inside but many years ago when I was a bairn.  The thing I remember was, the walls and roof had carpets on them, me and my sister Laura puzzled over this and remember thinking what a task it must be to hoover the whole house, walls included :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.