Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hummie Fever ... got me bad

I never left the yard today ... between the hummers and butterflies and baby birds, it was just too much fun right here at home.  I caught P-Hummie just as he was preparing to attack another hummer at "his" feeder - you can see the tail splayed in a classic aggressive posture.  It's kind of ironic that they are such fierce little things given their tiny size.  Hearts of lions.

The garden was also filled with butterflies which made me think of Biker Bear (Anni) who I know had a really tough day.  She is very much in my thoughts right now.  Today's Extra is for her.

I posted four other shots on Flickr, starting HERE with another shot of P-Hummie.  

The red bee balm in the garden is starting to look very enticing and several times today I saw hummers with their beaks deep in the flowers - a future photo, for sure.  And the butterfly bushes are sooooo close to blooming ...  I do love summers here.

Hubs and I have a quiet weekend planned.  Tonight I am doing pasta with fresh chopped tomatoes from the farm, herbs from my garden and some goat cheese.  It sounds like it will go perfectly with the Kim Crawford Savignon Blanc that is chilling in the fridge... Forecast for tomorrow is for rain which will make for more challenging blip conditions...Fortunately, hummingbirds love the rain...just sayin'.  

I was sad to read that our own Sarum Stroller was taking a hiatus from Blip.  I have enjoyed his photography very much and his personal story is one touched me deeply.  Mental illness is such a difficult thing to manage and live with, and one that makes so many people uncomfortable - I always admired his willingness to be so open about it.  Very brave, very talented.  

TTFN

And in historic news - the US Supreme Court ruled that gay marriage is legal - HOORAY! And, if I may say ... about damned time!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.