Simply Me

By Suze981

In bloom

You may remember that last Sunday I was at the Royal Botanic Gardens in Edinburgh to see the Amorphophallus titanum (titan arum). Well what a difference a week makes. This was it then, compared to it pictured above.

Well in fact, what a difference a night makes. I checked the Twitter feed after my run this morning to find that it had flowered! The flower is only open for one, possibly two days so I hot footed it down to the Botanics to see it in all it's glory. It's a sight that can only be seen once every 13 years if you're lucky!

I queued for an hour and didn't smell the distinctive (putrid) odour (apparently it's much worse at night) but it was still worth it!

Right, now I'm off to see if I can buy a duck for the Stockbridge Duck Race tomorrow, then I'm hoping to swing by the Union Canal festival this afternoon - my day's original plan! You'll have to wait for next year for a blip of that!

Running recovery mileage (From 15 March)
Today's run: 3 miles
Total mileage: 125 miles

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.