Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Sluggish

We had an excellent meal at Dunvalanree last night with most of us concentrating on the wonderful seafood - scallops,crab, monkfish, salmon and sea bass. Although not good on the waistline, the sweets were to die for! Great company with Alan and Alyson a marvellous host and chef team.

After a full day and plenty of good food and wine we all turned in relatively early in order to make the most of the next day.

#2 son was keen for a rematch at the golf and we were on the course for the back of 8 o'clock with his girlfriend C joining him for the walk and a few practice shots. We both played pretty well, but I was seriously out-gunned and he won easily by 4 holes.

After replenishing our energy levels with coffee and toast #2 son, S, busied himself on his iPhone working out a hilly 7 mile route for a run. He is currently in training for the Tough Mudder challenge being held at Drumlanrig Castle and Country Estate, Dumfriesshire on 14 July. I began to wonder if I could make the 7 miles with him, although it would be a lot harder than my usual 4 or 5 miles on the flat to the beach and back. 20 years ago it would have been a dawdle, but could I keep up with S on the hills and last few miles? Only one way to find out!

The first mile was OK and I was relieved when S indicated he wanted to stop for a minute to stretch off his leg muscles. this gave me a chance to run/ walk to the top of the first steep hll where I could stop and get my breath back while I waited for him. As the miles went on it got harder with the longest hill still to come. Half way up it, when I was breathing heavily, S announced he would need to stop at the top for a comfort break. Boy was I relieved (no pun intended!) as this gave me another chance to get my breath back! From there on it was mostly downhill or flat and the going was OK although I was conscious S was running slightly below his training pace, having probably taken pity on me.

I suggested we sprinted the last couple of hundred yards to the house and S took off. I put my foot on the accelerator, but nothing happened. My turbo was either knackered or I was out of fuel! I just felt sluggish and ready to stop.

It was one of those poignant moments in time when you become more conscious of your age. Time I think to hand over the sporting baton torch to the next generation!

Today's blip is courtesy of C who took this shot of 4 inch long slug at the edge of the 5th green on the golf course. Reckon I should at least be able to outpace him for a few years yet!

Thank you S & C for your wonderful company over the weekend and sharing lots of memorable moments with us. Next time we will catch some fish big enough to eat!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.