Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Midges!

The two main things that can ruin a good holiday in Scotland are the weather and the dreaded midges. This year the cool Spring kept the midges at bay until the middle of May, when they started to appear, although not in great numbers. However, with the arrival of milder and moister weather in the past couple of weeks the midge population here in Carradale has just exploded.

Those in the know are putting it down to the very mild Winter, which followed two of the coldest Winters on record. The number of midges has certainly been down the last couple of years, but they are back with a vengeance this year

This afternoon I was trying to finish off the tiling of the patio when what little sun there was disappeared and the wind died away. Within a few minutes I was surrounded by a cloud of the pesky midges. I had already covered my head, face and hands with some insect repellent I got in Australia that contained 20% deet. I have been using it every time I am out for the last week or so and it has been brilliant. Deet may be banned in this country, but it had certainly kept the midges away. That is until this afternoon when these little ravenous devils decided to attack me on mass and break through my defences in search of some blood.

Mrs B adopted Option B and covered her head in a midge net, which kept them away from her. On the other hand, I finished off the tiling and got my camera out for a midge blip. This little blighter on the back of my hand is no more than 1mm long or about the size of a pinhead. However, he packs a fair punch and you certainly know when you have been bitten!

Having got my blip it was a quick retreat to the house to wash all the midges of my face and hands. I am still itching from the ones that managed to crawl up under my sleeves and trouser legs!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.