Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Meet P-Hummie

I thought you'd like to meet this year's Mr. P-Hummie, our alpha male ruby-throated hummingbird. The first year we had hummers here, I named the male Puff-Hummer (like Puff-Daddy, get it?) but in recent years, he's asked that I not refer to him in that dated vernacular, preferring the more rad P-Hummie. (Okay, I just made that all up.) Anywho...Mr P is busy this season. By my count, we have at least 3 females here, possibly 4, so he's got his wings full. He's been working up a big hummie appetite doing his mating flights and here you see him taking a little break. This photo was my favorite today because it shows his beautiful red gorget which is only red from certain angles. I have not done anything to this photo other than a bit of a crop and a slight lightening - that red gorget is all his!

Not to be outdone in the mating games, the mourning doves are apparently ready for round two. I watched this one put on a fine show as the female stood by and looked disinterested. In the world of the chickadees, the kids are all getting the hang of the suet feeder and even had a food fight this afternoon. Kids, who can figure 'em out?

I am waiting for fellow blipper Peggy Lee to arrive for a long-awaited visit! She is currently stuck on the Jersey Turnpike, making her way up from VA, so I expect her here in about 90 minutes or so. Tonight's menu ... grilled chicken thighs and garlic scape pesto over pasta and home made rosemary/asiago bread. And wine, lots of wine! Oh, yea, baby!

Peg's got to head into the City tomorrow morning, but I'll be sure to get some pics of us on the deck before she leaves tomorrow and either blip one tomorrow, or post some in my folio.

Will catch up with your journals tomorrow. Happy Sunday!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.