Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

One-thousand, four hundred sixty

That is the number of days I've taken photos without a break - four years...48 months...208 weeks...  And I thought that a hummingbird would be a fitting celebratory blip since it is probably the creature I've taken the most photos of since this journey began.  I shot this on my deck this morning and got lucky to get the little guy in focus as he hovered up, down, back and forth several feet from a feeder.  All of the other attempts were blurry ... but this one...well, I'm very happy with it.  I have cropped it slightly but it is otherwise straight out of the camera.

Most of you know that my return to photography came while I was recovering from brain surgery.  I was introduced to Blip by a fellow brain tumor survivor so I guess you could say that it was a brain tumor that brought me here.  Silver linings, wouldn't you say?  Some of the things that come to mind as I reflect...

I've rediscovered a deep and abiding passion for nature and photography 

I've pretty well gotten over my fear of spiders (wow!)

I've learned so much about bugs, birds, flora and fauna, due in large part to the wonderful photos that I've seen here on Blip and to the willingness of blippers around the world to share information about their subjects, their gear, and their techniques

I've also learned a lot about myself

I've met quite a few of you in person and shared some truly memorable moments and some wonderful friendships.

I've bought and/or sold 4 Nikon Camera bodies and a half-dozen lenses.  

My photography has improved dramatically since I posted my first shot of a male hummingbird in flight and I am still learning every day.

My beloved Hubs has even learned to tolerate the myriad of insects that now live in our garden, thanks to going pesticide-free.  

I've had woodpeckers, hummingbirds and chipmunks take food from my hands which always feels like sheer magic to me

I plan to continue for at least another 1,460 days...

Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.