Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Almost summerish. Briefly.

Another typical Edinburgh 2015 summer’s day - sunshine and showers. But with luck, you can get out and about and not get wet! Which we managed today.

We went down to the Scottish Parliament to see the World Press Photography exhibition. Well worth the effort! Some of the photos are shocking. I had tears welling up looking at photos of world news events (eg the bombing of the four boys on a Gaza beach, the shooting down of the plane over the Ukraine, public hangings...) but were too graphic to be shown in the media. Terrible things happening in the world, and here's me, complaining about the weather...

While JR went in to see the photos, Archie and I (and a few others) had a wee look at Mrs Windsor's house. (*aside* - Why are Charles Windsor’s kids known as William and Harry Wales?) EDIT: I've just Googled it. Interesting...

We walked through the Park, and our walk fortunately co-incided with the longest spell of dryness of the day. In fact, at times it was almost summer-ish. Except for the biting wind. I had to tie my wee neck scarf round my cold head (just as well I had lessons on turban fitting in Morocco). It was not flattering. I looked around, and JR was about as far away from me as she could be. Was she embarrassed to be seen with me? Yes.

When I came home, I spent an hour on the phone trying to sort out my gas account. The woman insisted that it was a 'legal requirement' that she read out the whole agreement, many pages long, even though it will be posted out to me, and I promised to read every word. She'd pause every now and again in her machine gun rattle of sound to ask if I was happy with what she just said. At one point I insisted I was ecstatic. She carried on undeterred. What a job!

JR and Archie went up The Hill to meet up with Bailey and her mum for an evening romp, where he was running so fast down the hill he rolled over three times! Wish I'd seen that! I was dropped off at Uncle A’s to catch up on his news.

The extra photo is to prove remind myself there was blue sky today. In fact, this evening is rather glorious.

Archie has not barked at other dogs today AT ALL. Good boy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.