Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Did you see what katy-did?

Yep, Katy did be eating my lily leaves!  That is what Katy does and what Katydid.  

A common green garden "pest" that I love seeing.  Sure, they eat things, but there is more than enough to go around and Katydids are also scrumptious treats for baby birds and golden digger wasps ... so live and let live.  They hatch out in the spring and the lucky survive to reach lengths of nearly two inches - big green vegetarians.  You've gotta love 'em.

My second choice today ... a big hairy-bummed tachinid fly

Hubs and I finished the planting bed around the front walkway - planted 72 little dianthus seedlings which will hopefully bloom with splendid color next year.  This year, we'll just nurse them along and hope their roots set well.  Then, a nice long chat with my parents.  It's hot and humid this afternoon so we'll do some indoors things ... maybe even a nap!  

It's been a nice weekend.  I am lucky to be married to someone I truly enjoy spending time with.

Cheers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.