Simply Me

By Suze981

Exploring perspectives

A long time ago, a teacher handed me a picture of Ascending and Descending by M C Escher. I can't remember which teacher it was, I can't even remember which school. The image endured though and I've always been fascinated by the artist.

I like to think my teacher was trying to teach us about differing perspectives and that not everything is always as it seems. Perhaps he was just talking about patterns. Whichever it was, the image stuck with me and I applied my own meaning.

Looking back, I'm aware that I had some really great teachers. They'll probably never know how much stays with you and what an influence they really did make. But I'm grateful.

The Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art in Edinburgh has an Escher exhibition on at the moment, so I had to go. This is the first ever UK exhibition of his work apparently. I learned so much more about the man and his work today.

This is not Escher's work. This is a sculpture by Nathan Coley in the Gallery grounds. The words are taken from a seventeenth-century royal proclamation made in a French town believed to have been the frequent site of miracles. I think it fits rather well with the Escher exhibition.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.