Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

I've got my eyes on you!

Another hot day on the Lane, meaning that I have limited my trips outside to short sorties.  Hot weather, however, has its upsides, including more dragons in the garden!  I found this stunning meadowhawk perched on the trellis in my butterfly garden.  Although she flew when I approached, she soon enough returned to her perch and with some patience, I was able to take this from a distance of about a foot.  A bit of cropping and ... voila!  And, for the second time this summer, I've been able to capture the cool compound eyes which you can see fairly well in this shot.  

I posted an uncropped image of the 'hawk as well as a stunning hoverfly on Flickr,  starting HERE.

Dinner last night was loads of fun - and, for the first time this summer, we were still outside when the bats started swooping through the yard.  Very cool to see them and they were kept quite busy chasing down the hoards of mosquitos (which is why we aren't usually still outside at that hour!)

Long chat with my parents this morning, followed by a few chores and some general goofing off.  A good Sunday.

Counting the days until two of my blip-buddies and their spouses arrive ... I've alerted the hummers and they've promised to be on their best behavior not to fight too much.  

Happy Sunday...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.