Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Attila the Hummie...

Poor Attila, he's looking a bit worse for the wear at the moment as he is well into his molt.  If you look closely you will see pin feathers sticking up on top of his head, and his gorget is looking...well, not quite as fine as it did several months ago.  Still, the tiny dude's gotta change out his wardrobe and I guess now is as good a time as any.  

I took this with a NEW lens!  Yep, I rented Nikon's new "phase fresnel" 300mm f/4 lens for five days.  It' is super light-weight, weighing less than 2 pounds and - boy - does it produce crisp images!  A girl could definitely get spoiled toting around a lens like this.  I took around 500 pics today, a good start to putting the lens through its paces.  I used it with both camera bodies and with/without the 1.7 teleconverter that I also rented.  In five words ... I like it a lot!  

I have posted five other shots, all taken with this lens, on Flickr,  starting HERE. Third one is a chippie that was my second choice for a blip today - the chippies have been scarce for the last few weeks but today several were scampering around the deck, looking for peanuts.  They heard that we are having nature-loving company this weekend...

Thank you for stopping by!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.