Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

7 AM

The water guy came and fixed the leak! After several weeks of making a plan and not following through, last night he emailed he'd be on the 5:50AM ferry from Victoria, arriving Galiano Island 7:00. So......of course we were happy to go pick him up. :-) this is not when I planned to be up and out however, but did grab the camera and shot this from the dock before getting in the boat to go to Galiano. I've done this view several times--but I don't think B and W. So I fooled with it and finally chose this (with help from photoMatix) because this is how it felt to me this morning without even a cup of coffee. After raining all night, it was still drizzling, and pretty dark with this cloud cover (the sun rose 2 hours ago)

The water guy is hard not to like. I don't think he lies, or has any resentment against Americans who can afford a cabin here, or is incompetent, but I do think he is disorganized and really relies on his corporate wife to communicate at all. He loves water and his small business includes all kinds of filtration systems, desalination, reverse osmosis, and plumbing. He needs more help. He has 25 clients on Galiano from a big resort desalination system to small filter ones like ours and he called every one to see if he could combine a trip out here. Except for the resort NO ONE was there --summer places with the weather too bad and too cold. (6 are from California!) I think that is astonishing! However, he spent 2 hours fixing our tubing, a skill we can now do if need be. And he got back on the 11:30 ferry home. We'll probably see him and his wife at our dock this summer on their boat.

And the afternoon: - my favorite! Saturday at the Opera on CBC radio in my studio!
An odd, contemporary, "Mary's Wedding". And tonight Meryl Streep in "Iron Lady"

I'm not going to talk for several days.... and I'm not getting up early tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.