Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Happy Father's Day

To all the dad's out there, and especially to my dad, Happy Father's Day!

I know that this is the third time this week I've blipped Dad DWP feeding one of his offspring, but I honestly couldn't think of a more fitting way to salute all the dad's out there on their special day. And, since Dad DWP was working overtime with his young 'uns today, it was perfect. If you'd like to see another shot of dad, here he is feeding his daughter and a close-up of Dad feeding Junior.. I have to say that I am impressed with the parenting skills of the downy woodpeckers, especially the male.

A few other shots you may enjoy...

Mrs. Cardinal, looking a bit bloated

Mr. Ruby-throated Hummer, flashing his gorget

Mrs. RTH showing her flying skills

Grey catbird in full song

Dad Cardinal, looking a bit disheveled

I moved things around on the patio a bit, hoping to dissuade Rocky Raccoon from drinking nectar. Either it worked, or he was dining elsewhere last night - everything was where it should be this morning, and the trail cam didn't pick up anything. We'll see what tonight brings...

Last night, my hubs strung up a clothesline that runs from our deck to a tree in the woods, about 40 feet or so away. It is above the ground by about 15 feet, out of reach of bears. Why, you wonder, would bears want my laundry? Ha! Who hangs laundry on a clothesline? I hung bird feeders on mine - in my ongoing effort to thwart the furred critters from eating the birds out of house and home. I'm very happy with this newest "home improvement." I know that squirrels can still run out the rope and get some suet or seed, but this should prevent the raccoons from getting it, and certainly the bears. The birds took to it right away, with a few funny fly-bys this morning from the Red bellied woodpeckers and blue jays. As usual, the chickadees were the first to try out the new bistro, followed by the titmice.

I hope that all the dads out there are having a wonderful day. And for my dad...love you, Dad!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.