DIPSACUS FULLONUM (WILD TEASEL)

And a whole field of these.
After yesterday's rain I was surprised to wake up with a lovely sky, blue it was with white clouds. We sat both reading our books in the morning.
I studied the map, wondering what walk we would like to make.
We can go in all directions, but what did I fancy most?
I liked a new path, yes I did, and so I suggested to Piet Hein we would drive to Beverungen, park the car near the cemetry and walk from there a path along a forest, with a view over a valley, to Drenke. Probably go the same path back again.
It turned out a lovely walk, oh how lucky we felt. We did not walk very fast and the path went slowly up, so we were happy to reach Drenke after 4 pm. And after we had looked around in this small village, Piet Hein showed on the map a different path back.
A good idea!
We walked through fields first, then through a forest and along the overgrown path too. Had this been the path that we once had walked six or seven years ago, just before Piet Hein's operation? He thought it was, I simply had no recollection. Then we saw a field with many sheep and Piet Hein had told me earlier of his memory of a field with sheep and a shepherd on that day. Why would it be so important to remember things from many years ago? I sometimes don't remember what photo I had taken the day before.....

My haiku:

They can't walk I see
Would they like to go away?
To a place unknown?

And the proverb:

Fortune can take from us nothing but what she gave us.

Publ.Syrus, Nihil eripit  Fortuna nisi quod et dedit..
1732  Fuller, no.1598

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.